Building FreePM?

Presentation Manager (windowing subsystem) development questions.
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1925
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 9:23 am
firstname: osFree
lastname: admin

Post by admin » Fri Dec 21, 2018 5:00 am

prokushev

Site Admin

Joined: 25 Nov 2003
Posts: 103
Posted: Sun Jul 01, 2007 10:30 am

IIRC you told some time about "new technologies". Now you propose to switch back to older API.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1925
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 9:23 am
firstname: osFree
lastname: admin

Post by admin » Fri Dec 21, 2018 5:03 am

Viking

Joined: 29 Sep 2006
Posts: 44
Location: Sweden
Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2007 9:45 pm

2Valerius:
Nitpicker and GRADD seems to overlap a great deal. Should Nitpicker be builtin inside FreePMs graphics
engine? So that we only use parts of it?

And what kind of relation has presentations spaces(PS) and device contexts(DC)?

Let's say, that to paint to the screen. The DC represents the hardware graphics card with the framebuffer.
And you have got an PS in your program. Does the PS contain it's own image buffer of some sort? And when
the program updates the window the image bits is transferred to the DC?

From what I have read the PS contain an "perfect" image content, with no limitations in how many colors
and such it can use. But the DC reflects the limitations if they are, the hardware has. And when the DC
receives the image it adapts it so the hardware can display it as good it can.

Can anyone else explain it better?

Greetings Viking

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1925
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 9:23 am
firstname: osFree
lastname: admin

Re: Building FreePM?

Post by admin » Fri Dec 21, 2018 5:04 am

Viking

Joined: 29 Sep 2006
Posts: 44
Location: Sweden
Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2007 9:51 pm

2Yuri: Have you received the source of FreePM I have sent? I emailed it at the July 4th to your account
at ecomstation, but the email server(Hotmail) complained it could not send it.

Greetings Viking

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1925
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 9:23 am
firstname: osFree
lastname: admin

Post by admin » Fri Dec 21, 2018 5:05 am

prokushev

Site Admin

Joined: 25 Nov 2003
Posts: 103
Posted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 1:27 pm

No. Most probably you need to rename extension from .zip (or that you use) to something like .ziq. Otherwise
smap filter will revert message back.

Post Reply